Read-A-Thons

#Diverseathon TBR

Hello, lovely readers!

I apologize that this post is going up a lot later than I usually put my posts up. I meant to write this up this morning and didn’t get around to it.

I’m here for yet another readathon TBR. I might have a readathon addiction, send help please. I wasn’t really planning on participating in another readathon this month, especially a themed readathon because I have a pretty good idea of what the next few books I want to read are. However, I think this readathon is a super important one. I believe that diversity in literature (and everywhere else in life) is extremely important. Everyone deserves to be represented and to be able to find themselves and stories they can relate to in literature.

This has been a major topic in the BookTube community this week, and on Twitter, due to a video that was released. I’m not going to say who it was, or what was said, because I honestly didn’t watch the video. It didn’t deserve my time, my view, or my anger. I believe the video has been taken down. This readathon is something wonderful that arose from something hateful, and that in itself is beautiful.

With all of that being said, here are some details on the readathon! This readathon was created by four BookTubers, and I will list their channel names along with a link to their announcement videos. You can find more information regarding the readathon there! They all spoke very eloquently about the subject and the video and they all deserve immense support for this readathon. Christina MarieWhittyNovelsshemightbemonica, and squibblesreads. The readathon begins on Monday the 12th at midnight, and ends on Monday the 19th.

THE BOOKS I PLAN TO READ:

As for the books that I plan to read, I’ve picked a bunch of books to choose from. Mostly because I’m not sure what I’ll be in the mood for. I’ll just be picking whatever I want to read most from this list.

  1. Every Day by David Levithan – I’ve heard this book discusses gender and non-binary people and I don’t think I’ve read anything on those topics before.
  2. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness – This book features queer characters, characters that are people of color, and people with mental illnesses.
  3. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – This book features characters that are people of color.
  4. Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng – This book features a Chinese American family.
  5. Joyride by Anna Banks  This book is told from the point of view of a seventeen-year-old Mexican American.
  6. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – This book features a character who is blind.
  7. Ghost Boy by Martin Pistorius – This is a memoir about a man who was trapped inside his own body for ten years after falling unexplainably sick at the age of 12.

As you see, I have quite an array of things to read. These all sound so good, and I cannot wait to see what I read! I definitely won’t get through all of these, but that’s okay. As of right now the three on the top of my list are Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng, Joyride by Anna Banks, and Ghost Boy by Martin Pistorius. But we shall see what I end up getting to!

Do you plan on participating in Diverseathon? If so, what do you plan on reading? If not, is there anything on this list that you recommend I read first?

What are your thoughts?

