Read-A-Thons

#ReadThemAllThon Wrap UP


Hello, lovely readers!

I hope you’ve all had a wonderful weekend! I have been participating in the Pokemon Indigo League readathon for the past three weeks, and actually managed to get a bit of reading done. I really enjoyed this readathon. I even found a spreadsheet that someone had created to help keep track of your Pokemon’s CP and was using that. I really enjoy lists, cataloging, and data entry so it was really enjoyable for me to be able to fill that out over the past few weeks. Without further ado, here is how I did during this three week long readathon!

Starting Pokemon: Charmander


For the Pewter gym badge, I picked A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin to read. I managed to read 189 pages of 807, but did not finish the book. I don’t know, it wasn’t that I wasn’t liking the book, I’m just not entirely sure I want to invest myself in this series. I just can’t decide.


For the Cerulean gym badge, I originally picked The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah, and later changed that to Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur. I did finish this book, reading all 208 pages of it. I rated this book ★.


I also completed the Vermillion gym badge by reading The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. I read the 132 pages I had left of this book when the readathon started. I really enjoyed this book, but not quite as much as I enjoyed Since You’ve Been Gone, by the same author. I rated this book ★.


For the Celadon gym, I picked The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie. I did read a few pages of this but didn’t record how much, because I just wasn’t enjoying it. I do still want to read it because I’ve heard so many good things about it.


I picked Me Before You by Jojo Moyes for the Fuschia gym badge. I completed all 369 pages of this book and rated it a ★. I had originally rated it a five out of five but have since bumped that down. While I really enjoyed the story and the characters, I did pick up on some of the problematic things about the novel. There are quite a few people who don’t like this novel because of the ableism in it, which is understandable.


For the Saffron gym badge, I chose A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. I read the 375 pages I had left of this at the beginning of the readathon. You have no idea how much I wish I knew someone in real life who had read this, so I could text them to absolutely gush about this novel. All I’ve been able to think about since I finished it a few nights ago, is rereading it. The first book too, because I think there are a few foreshadowing things I would pick up on now that I may not have the first time I read it. If I could go back and lower my rating of the first book, I would, because this second book was a million times better than the first. A MILLION. Okay, I’ll stop now. I obviously rated this a ★★★★★.


For the Cinnabar gym badge, I picked Switched by Amanda Hocking and did not read any of it. I just was not able to read as much as I thought I was going to these three weeks. Plus I read a little of a book that wasn’t on my TBR and can’t count toward these challenges. OOPS.


And last but not least, for the Viridian gym badge I chose The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon and did not read a single page of this. I’ve run out of excuses as to why, so I’m just going to move on.


Pokemon: 10 CP

Pages: 124 CP

Gym Badges: 80 CP

Evolution: 50 CP

Final CP: 264 CP

My Pokemon after evolution was Charmeleon. 😀

Did you participate in this readathon? If you did, how many books did you read and what was your final CP?

 

What are your thoughts?

