Read-A-Thons

#ReadThemAllThon TBR

Disclaimer: Pokemon belongs to Nintendo.

Hello, lovely readers!

I’m back again with a readathon TBR. I know, I know, I’ve been missing again, and I apologize for that. I haven’t been reading, and just life as usual. Originally my plan was to participate in Bout of Books this week. However, I am leaving for Ohio today (in fact as this post goes live, I should be landing in Ohio) and will be there for a week to visit family and attend my cousin’s wedding. So Bout of Books is a no-go.

Then, I found this lovely readathon that is being hosted by Read at Midnight. You can find her introductory post here. That post has any and all information you may need. Now, this readathon actually started a few days ago, on the 14th of August, and it runs until the 4th of September. That makes it a three week long readathon. So, if I end up not reading much during my visit to Ohio, there will still be plenty of time for reading!

There’s also this really fun point type system, that I’m excited about. Basically you pick a pokemon and depending on how much you read, and what challenges you complete, the pokemon gains CP. Please see her post for more information on this! I decided on Charmander for my pokemon, because I love him. Sound good? Good.

Without further ado, let’s move on to the actual TBR.


For this challenge, I’ve decided to read A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. I have been meaning to read this book for literal years now, and I’ve simply been intimidated by it’s size. But while I was deciding what to read on the plane today, I remembered that I have the audiobook on my Scribd account, and decided that I would listen to it. I have motion sickness on top of just generally being freaked out by planes, and thought listening to an audiobook would be easier than trying to read the physical book. Hopefully that worked out in my favor. I know this is ambitious and may not be done, but I’m going to give it a go. (807 pages)

I am currently reading The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah, which I borrowed from a friend. I decided this book has the potential to make me cry. It’s a World War II novel set in France. I’m not sure I’ve read a World War II novel that didn’t make me cry. I take that back, I don’t think I cried while reading Number the Stars, but still. (419 pages left)

Another book that I was reading at the beginning of the readathon, which is The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. I’ve actually already finished this book, and have stuck it in here so that it can count for a challenge. If I have time to pick something else for this challenge, I will, since I didn’t have much of the book left. (132 pages left)

I really don’t have that many books on my shelves that feature diversity (that I haven’t read), which is something I would like to correct in the future. For this challenge, I have picked The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie, which is a book I have been meaning to read for ages. (230 pages)

I’ve heard that Me Before You by Jojo Moyes has an epic romance. And that I’ll have my heart ripped out of my body. I’ve been wanting to read this book lately, and I am ready to cry a thousand tears. (369 pages)

This isn’t becoming a pattern, I swear. But this is another book that I’m currently reading. I don’t feel guilty for counting this one, however, because I still have well over half of the book to read. For this challenge, I choose A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas, which is one of my most anticipated books of the year. I’m loving it so far, I’ve just been reading slowly this year. (375 pages left)

For this challenge, I choose Switched by Amanda Hocking, because the cover is red. I don’t know much about this book, other than it has fantasy elements. I picked the bind up of the trilogy up at Walmart for super cheap. Why not read it now? (: (293 pages)

There’s actually another novel that I would rather read for this challenge, but I’m not sure I will get my hands on a copy before this readathon is over. So for now, I will pick The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon. I have heard good things about this novel, so I’m excited by the prospect of possibly reading it. (452 pages)


Possible points if I finish all of these books/challenges: 467 CP

So that is my TBR for this readathon! I most likely will not finish all of these books, but it’s nice to have variety. Let me know which book you think I should start with and if you are participating!


*All images used within this post belong to readatmidnight.com She gives permission for use of said images in her introductory post, linked above. Thank you for allowing us to use these beautiful graphics!*
What are your thoughts?

