Book Review

The One by Kiera Cass

*WARNING: Possible spoilers for the previous books.*

Publication Date: May 6, 2014

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

Series: The Selection Trilogy, Book Three

Format: Paperback

Pages: 368 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon | Book Depository

Rating: 5 sm

The beautifully romantic third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series! The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales, and is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Ally Condie’s Matched, or Lauren Oliver’s Delirium.

Entering the Selection changed America Singer’s life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen–and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she’s made her choice . . . and she’s prepared to fight for the future she wants.


The One is the third book in the Selection series. It was originally meant to be the last book, but two books were later added. I believe this would have been the perfect way to end the trilogy. (Disclaimer: I haven’t read the last two books in the series yet, though I plan to in the future.) The thing to know about my ratings with this series is that it’s based on the fun I had while reading the book, and not based on whether it’s the best thing ever. I prefer rating books based on my enjoyment of them.

I was pleased to discover that The One delved a little more into the political aspect of the story, which was something I really wanted more of throughout the books. I still think it could have gone a bit further, but I was pleased nonetheless. We also saw more of the rebellion, which was good. This book was very action-packed, which made it a fast and fun read.

America manages to grow up a little in this novel, which was a really good thing. She seems to realize that if she were to win the Selection, that she would be partially responsible for running a country. It had been mentioned in the other books, but I never really felt like she took it seriously until this final book. It was nice to see her try to put her beliefs into some of the competition and not back down because it wasn’t what people wanted to hear. My opinions on the other characters didn’t change much from the last two books. There was a point with Maxon, in which I wasn’t very happy with him, but it was fixed fairly quickly.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book if you liked the last two in the series. You can expect the same kind of feel from this third novel as what was present in the first two books in the series. The series so far, as a whole, are fun and fast and full of fluff and drama.

*The image and synopsis were both taken from Goodreads. Clicking on the “add to goodreads” image above will take you to the Goodreads page for this book.*
Advertisements

One thought on “The One by Kiera Cass

What are your thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s