Book Review

The Elite by Kiera Cass

*WARNING: Possible spoilers for the previous book.*

Publication Date: April 23, 2013

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

Series: The Selection Trilogy, Book Two

Format: Paperback

Pages: 352 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon | Book Depository

Rating: 5 sm

The selection began with 35 girls. Now, with the group narrowed down to the Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s love is fiercer than ever. The closer America gets to the crown, the more she struggles to figure out where her heart truly lies. Each moment she spends with Maxon is like a fairy tale, filled with breathless, glittering romance. But whenever she sees her first love, Aspen, standing guard, she’s swept up in longing for the life they’d planned to share.

America is desperate for more time. But while she’s torn between her two futures, the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want–and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.


The great thing about the Selection series is that they are fun and fast reads. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not the best thing ever written. But I think if you go into the series knowing that, it can help increase your enjoyment of it. These books have a dystopian undertone in them. In my opinion, they rely more on the romance than anything else. At times I even felt like the few, small dystopian aspects to this were there only for convenience or a filler. That being said, I still really loved this book.

One of my favorite parts of this novel was that no matter what was happening, or what America had to decide between, she didn’t let those things change who she was. I find that I really enjoy characters like this when it’s situations where what they believe is best, and I definitely think that was the case with this book. However, America has a really hard time making her mind up about literally anything, and that was a bit frustrating at times. I have heard so many negative things about her character, but I really did like her for the most part. I was definitely rooting for her throughout the series.

Maxon is swoon worthy, though he does make his fair share of mistakes throughout this novel. Learning more of his past was painful, and he gave me all of the feels. I still am not a fan of Aspen’s character, and I honestly feel like the story could have done without him. I’m not a fan of the love triangle in this book in general. Generally, I’m not one to stomp on love triangles just for the sake of existing. Things can be more complicated than just one or the other, but I have to feel like there’s really something there with all points of the triangle. I just never really feel like it’s true between Aspen and America.

Overall, this second installment was a great addition to the series. Dare I say, I think I even enjoyed it more than I did the first novel. I would definitely recommend it if you liked the first novel.

*The image and synopsis were both taken from Goodreads. Clicking on the “add to goodreads” image above will take you to the Goodreads page for this book.*
2 thoughts on “The Elite by Kiera Cass

  1. Hi Caity!

    Great review. I enjoyed this book too! I recently started the spin off series, The Heir. It was just as good and you get a glimpse of most of the characters from this series too! Looking forward to reading more of your reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

