Weekend Reads

Weekend Reads | 01

weekend

Hello, lovely readers!

I know, I know – I’m probably the worst blogger in the history of bloggers. I disappear for random amounts of time, and I never really have a good reason for it. Just being honest with myself for once.

That being said, I had the urge to post something and wasn’t entirely sure what I wanted to post. Then I decided I would go ahead and talk about what I would like to read this weekend. I make no promises as to whether I will actually read any of this, or at all. But, hey, it’s worth a shot, right? I basically want this to be something I post once in awhile, where I talk about what I would like to read throughout the weekend and just talk about reading in general.

I’m in this really weird place with reading right now. I don’t want to call it a slump necessarily, though that has been my reality for the past couple of months. It is more of a reading hysteria (though I’m not entirely sure that’s fitting either). Anyway, basically I want to read so many different things that I’m having a really hard time finding something to actually read.

I’ll start reading something that I am genuinely interested in reading (I could even be enjoying it immensely), and I’ll think, “I really want to read Burial Rites instead”. So, I’ll pick up Burial Rites instead, and read a section of it. Then it will happen again. “I really want to read Falling Kingdoms instead. Or actually, I want to read A Court of Mist and Fury. Hmm, maybe I’ll reread Fangirl instead.” It’s absolutely maddening.

For the most part, Burial Rites by Hannah Kent is the book that I have been reading. And like I said above, I am really enjoying it. It’s a very atmospheric novel, and I love Kent’s writing. However, I’ve been slowly reading it for like two weeks now. The writing style is a bit different from what I am used to, and that probably has something to do with it. But it does not help when I want to pick up a new book every five minutes.

Is anyone else experiencing something similar to this? It’s also kind of mixed in with things like I can’t decide if I want to read, watch television, or knit. And an irrational anger at the fact that I cannot do all three at once.

If by some miracle I happen to finish Burial Rites this weekend, I will probably pick up A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas next. It finally came in, and I have been anticipating this book for over a year now. I need it. I neeeeeeed it. I also might pick up We’ll Always Have Summer by Jenny Han since I got paid today. See what I mean? DON’T JUDGE ME.

What are you reading this weekend?

Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “Weekend Reads | 01

    1. That’s no kidding. And while I have absolutely no problem with wanting to read everything in sight – I wish it wouldn’t interfere with my reading. Seems kind of pointless to want to read everything when you can’t focus on one thing at a time. XD

      I’m glad I’m not the only one though!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, exactly! Not only is it ironic, but it’s also annoyingly counterproductive!

        Also, I try not to do multiple reads simultaneously because I almost always get all the storylines and plots mixed up. Totally not for me. I admire the people who can read a lot of books at a time though.

        Like

      2. Yeah. I sometimes struggle reading multiple books at a time. It kind of depends on what the genres are and if they’re similar at all.

        A lot of times when I’m reading multiple books at a time, it’s that I start one and I read the first fifty pages or so. And then I pick up another, and read about the first fifty pages or so. Then I basically switch back and forth until one catches my interest more than the other. After that, I usually binge read/finish that book and then read the other.

        Unfortunately, that has not been the case lately. XD

        Like

What are your thoughts?

