Top 5 Wednesday

T5W 13: Books You’re Intimidated By

Top 5 Books You’re Intimidated By

Hello, lovely readers!

Today’s Top Five Wednesday topic is the top five books that you’re intimidated by. I’m not entirely sure if this is supposed to be books that you already own or just books you want to read. I have decided to go with books that I own, because, why not?

I had a tough time narrowing down my top five intimidating books because, let’s be honest, there are quite a few. Not necessarily because of their size (although that’s a big thing for most of these), but also because I’m afraid it won’t live up to the hype or my expectations of it. The list goes on, and on. So without further ado, here are my top five in no particular order.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. MartinI’m not sure I even really need to explain this one. I feel like A Game of Thrones is on a lot of people’s intimidating books list for more than one reason. First, the size. This book is 807 pages in the mass market paperback, and the other books just get bigger from there. Second, it’s the beginning of a long, adult high fantasy series. While I absolutely love fantasy novels, sometimes I find them intimidating (especially adult fantasy) because of the world building and the density. I seem to always be afraid that I won’t understand something, or that I’ll miss something vitally important to the book/series. All of that being said, I do really want to read this book series. I’ve heard nothing but amazing things from the people I know that have read it.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Outlander by Diana GabaldonThis is another book that I’m intimidated by based mostly on the size of the books and the size of the series. I own the first book in that large, floppy paperback edition and it’s 627 pages; and the font is rather small. On top of that, the series itself is eight books along with novellas and a companion type series. That companion series has like three books and many novellas also. There’s just so much to read and not enough time in the day.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

City of Bones by Cassandra ClareOkay, so hear me out. I haven’t read a single book by Cassandra Clare. Not because I don’t want to, and not because I don’t own any. I was pretty late jumping on the “I want to read the Mortal Instruments” bandwagon, and have slowly been collecting the books. That being said, I keep making excuses like “I want to own all the books before I start”, but let’s be real, I’m just really worried I’m not going to like them. Almost everyone you see in the book community (not everyone, but a good portion) love these books. I suppose I’m just worried I won’t see what they see, on top of having spent all the money buying all these books. Though, that will have been entirely my fault.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Under the Dome by Stephen King: This book is over a thousand pages long. My copy is 1,072 to be exact. I have a hard time committing to books over 500 pages, how do you think I’m supposed to read a book over 1000 pages? That being said, the premise sounds so incredibly intriguing to me. A dome around a city, planes crashing into said dome, hands being cut off by said dome, cars exploding… Yep, sign me up (for some unknown date in the future when I work up the courage to read this thing). How does one hold a book that large while reading it? Please tell me the secrets to reading big books.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Brandon Sanderson: I’ll admit, this may be cheating a little bit. I only own two books by the man, Steelheart and Firefight, and they are definitely two of his smaller novels. That series, in particular, doesn’t really intimidate me. However, literally anything else he has written does. I really want to get my hands on the UK paperback editions of his books (because, hello they are absolutely stunning). But, they’re all so large and they’re those intimidating high fantasy adult series that scare me so much. One of these days, I will read a book by Brandon Sanderson, and I will be a little less intimidated. Probably.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

What books are you most intimidated by? Do we share any of the same ones?

6 thoughts on “T5W 13: Books You’re Intimidated By

  1. I feel most of these. I can’t say I wasn’t intimidated by Game of Thrones, but I managed to get through it. Rereading it, though… Haha, definitely intimidated.

    Like

    1. Haha, but at least you’ve read them once. I haven’t even done that. I have read about 90 pages of the first book, and then I set it down for some reason or another. I honestly can’t really remember why.

      But I can totally see why rereading those books would be intimidating. I don’t know about you, but I find it usually takes me longer to read a book when I’m rereading it. I’m not really sure why that is.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. For me it varies with the reread. Sometimes I simply read a bit faster in some places, so it actually takes me shorter to finish, but sometimes I like to savor each page, to check what I might’ve missed the first time.

        Like

What are your thoughts?

