Read-A-Thons

Bout of Books 15 & TBR Takedown 3.0 | Day Four

Bout of Books 15 & TBR Takedown 3.0 Day 4, January 7th, 2016

Currently Reading:

  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell
  • Number the Stars by Lois Lowry

Completed Books:

  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
  • The Selection by Kiera Cass
  • Saga Volume Four by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples
  • Just One Year by Gayle Forman
  • Just One Night by Gayle Forman
  • The Prince by Kiera Cass

Pages Read Today:

  • Carry On – 29 pages
  • Just One Year – 38 pages
  • Just One Night – 55 pages
  • The Prince – 64 pages
  • Number the Stars – 66 pages
  • Total – 252 pages

Total Pages Read:

1,492 pages

My Thoughts:

I finished reading Just One Year today, and really liked it. I love that Gayle Forman stuck to the “finding yourself” feel in this second book. It was nice to follow Willem on their year apart, to watch him grow as a person and to find out what happened to him over that time. I really loved the ending. I purchased the companion novella that is set after this book called Just One Night, and read it next. I really, really loved this novella. It was nice to have the wrap up to this story, and see a little more clearly what the future holds for Allyson and Willem.

After that, I decided to read another novella and I picked up The Prince by Kiera Cass. This novella takes place before and during the first book in the Selection series. It is told from Maxon’s point of view, and I really enjoyed it. I didn’t really learn anything new from it. So while I enjoyed the different point of view, and it was a fun read; it didn’t really add anything to the series for me. Still a quick, fun read from a character that I really like.

Next, I picked up Number the Stars by Lois Lowry. So far, I’m not enjoying this story as much as I was expecting to. I love reading about the World War II era, and this isn’t really living up to that. So far, the story has been kind of boring. The things that have happened, haven’t been talked about much. Hopefully I’ll like it more in the second half!

What are you currently reading?

What are your thoughts?

