Book Discussions

2015 Book Survey

Hello lovely readers!

At the end of 2014, for my yearly reading wrap up, I did something called the 2014 book survey. This year, I headed back over to Jamie’s blog, The Perpetual Page-Turner, looking for the 2015 edition. And I found it here! I loved doing this survey last year so I’m glad that I was able to find it again for this year. You can find my survey from last year here. If I have a review for any of the books that I mention below, click on the title and it will take you to my review! (: I will probably only link the review once, to avoid the post being riddled with more links than necessary.

Number of Books I Read: 56

Number of Rereads: 3

Genre You Read the Most From: Young Adult Contemporary

1. Best book you read in 2015?

I actually had a bit of trouble picking one this year. Last year I had no problem screaming Fangirl from the roofs of buildings, but this year there was almost a tie. In the end, A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas won by a little bit. I really loved this book, it was a fantastic start to what will more than likely be a fantastic fantasy series. Of course this was a Beauty and the Beast retelling, and I’m in love with Beauty and the Beast, so that probably helped.

2. Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

Landry Park by Bethany Hagen. I was really excited about this book when it first came out, and when I got it. The longer I waited the more the excitement went down, but when I finally started it, I was excited again. Then, the plot just fell kind of flat for me. My biggest issue was the writing style, because I had a really hard time remembering what time period we were supposed to be in.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I was super pumped for this book, and bought it shortly after it came out. Then everyone in the book community started to read it, and a good portion weren’t fans. That made me hesitant to go in and a little worried that I wasn’t going to like this book; but I ended up loving it!

4. Book you “pushed” the most people to read (and they did)?

I didn’t do a huge amount of book pushing in 2015, not like I did in 2014 anyway. I can’t think of a specific book that was pushed more than another, so I’ll list a few that I recommended to people and I know they at least purchased the book after. The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han, and Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell.

5. Best series you started in 2015? Best sequel of 2015? Best series ender of 2015?

The best series that I started in 2015 was definitely Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood. Now, I have only read the first book so far; but it was a fantastic starter and I cannot wait to continue on. The best sequel of 2015 was Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo. I really enjoyed the first book, Shadow and Bone, but Siege and Storm just blew it out of the park for me. My favorite character of the series is introduced in that book, and it was just fantastic. The best series ender of 2015 was P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han. This book made me feel all of the things, and I just really loved it.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

I have a few, I couldn’t pick just one. Leigh Bardugo, Tracey Garvis Graves, Sarah J. Maas, Jessica Spotswood, Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Tahereh Mafi. I told you I couldn’t pick one.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

For this I have to pick the only non-fiction book that I read this year, which was Yes Please by Amy Poehler. This memoir was so funny and real, and just amazing.

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

I would be lying if I didn’t pick On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves for this question. I wouldn’t necessarily say it was action-packed; but, I picked that book up at midnight and didn’t put it down until seven in the morning when I had finished it. It’s a beautiful book, full of love and survival.

9. Book you read in 2015 that you are most likely to reread next year?

Probably A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?

I don’t want to pick just one. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas, Angelfall by Susan Ee, the Grisha trilogy covers by Leigh Bardugo, Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, and more.

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

Sturmhond from the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. Particularly from Siege and Storm. I just really love him, okay?

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. Her writing is so beautiful.

13. Most thought-provoking/life-changing book of 2015?

I’m not sure this was the most thought-provoking book ever, but hear me out. Have you ever read a book and it’s just so good you don’t know what to do when you’ve finished? You loved the book so much you’re convinced you won’t find something that was as good. That was A Court of Thorns and Roses for me, this year. I wish I could explain why, but I’m not even really sure. I just really, really loved it.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited until 2015 to finally read?

Either Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson or Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas.

15. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2015?

“I’ve learned that home isn’t a place, it’s a feeling.” – Love, Rosie by Cecila Ahern

“I spent my life folded between the pages of books. In the absence of human relationships I formed bonds with paper characters. I lived love and loss through stories threaded in history; I experience adolescence by association. My world is one interwoven web of words, stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together. I am a being comprised of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed through fiction.” – Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

16. Shortest and longest books you read in 2015?

I decided to only count actual novels for this, so this doesn’t include graphic novels or novellas. The longest book I read in 2015 was Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James. The shortest book I read in 2015 was The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu.

17. Book that shocked you the most?

I would have to say Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, because of the plot twist at the end. I read quite a few of reviews from people saying that they expected it, and I was definitely not on that train. While I had some uneasy feelings about a certain character, I hadn’t quite expected that.

18. OTP of the year (you will go down with this ship!)?

Probably Penryn and Raffe from Angelfall by Susan Ee. While there were other couples that I really loved, they are also part of possible love triangles that I’m just not really sure about yet.

19. Favorite non-romantic relationship of the year?

Tamlin and Lucien from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I really enjoyed these two, their banter, and their loyalty.

20. Favorite book you read in 2015 from an author you’ve read previously?

I actually read a lot of new to me authors in 2015, so there wasn’t a whole lot to pick from for this question. I will have to go with I Was Here by Gayle Forman.

21. Best book you read in 2015 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody else/peer pressure?

I will have to go with Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas for this one. I don’t really get pressured to read books in real life, but you can definitely feel the pressure to read this in the book community. So many people loved it, and I’m glad I read it.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

Sturmhond from the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo and Tamlin from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

23. Best 2015 debut you read?

I don’t think I actually read a 2015 debut.

24. Best world building/most vivid setting you read this year?

I really, really loved the world building in the Shadow and Bone world by Leigh Bardugo. I cannot wait to get back into this world when I read Six of Crows.

25. Book that put a smile on your face/was the most fun to read?

Hmm.. maybe the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before duology by Jenny Han. These books are so cute, go read them right now!

26. Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2015?

I Was Here by Gayle Forman, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han, How to Love by Katie Cotugno, Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo, and Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson.

27. Hidden gem of the year?

The Princess Diaries series by Meg Cabot. I wasn’t sure if I’d love the books, but they’re so light and fluffy; I couldn’t help myself.

28. Book that crushed your soul?

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo. My feels. Just thinking about it makes my heart hurt.

29. Most unique book you read in 2015?

This is a hard question. Maybe The Martian by Andy Weir, I’ve never read anything quite like that and it was one of my favorite books of the year.

30. Book that made you the most mad?

Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne. The things in this book that made me mad are numerous. Slut shaming a thirteen year old girl being the biggest one.

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?

The Book’s the Thing

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?

Funny fact, my favorite review that I wrote in 2015 is for a book that I actually didn’t care for. Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne; I had so many feelings about this book.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

I actually didn’t post any discussion posts in 2015, which I hadn’t actually realized until just now, and I’m kind of sad about it. I want to make more of an effort to post discussions in 2016, so if you have anything you would like me to talk about, let me know in the comments! The only other thing I can think of is maybe my Goodreads tag post.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I really love all of the memes/features that I post on my blog. They’re fun to do, and I enjoy sharing those things with you. The most anticipated book releases features is probably my favorite of them all. I often already have a book in mind for these posts, but I always go and look up other releases for the month. This helps me to find out about books that I may not have known about before; which I think is really neat. I also really like posting Teaser Tuesdays because I get to share bits of the books I’m reading with my readers.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

Not that long ago, I posted my review for On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves. Shortly after that went live, Tracey Garvis Graves actually retweeted my review and responded saying she was glad that I loved it. I fangirled a little bit, not gonna lie.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

I had quite a few struggles throughout the year; not only in my blogging and reading life. A lot of those other struggles I think are a big part of what affected my reading and blogging; which is unfortunate. I would have to say the most challenging thing about my blogging life was trying to think of things that I could post when I wasn’t reading very much or at all. Almost all of the content that I post requires me to be reading (Teaser Tuesdays, reviews, weekly wrap ups, etc.), and if I’m barely reading or not reading at all then I have nothing to post. I hope to resolve that in 2016. As far as my reading life challenges, the reading slump I’ve been in has definitely been my biggest struggle.

7. Most popular post this year on your blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My most popular post this year by comments was my TBR for Dewey’s 24 Hour readathon in October. I find it pretty comical that my most viewed post in 2015 was something a posted in 2014, that post being my NPR Books Top 100 Teen Books post. I actually used to have that list on a separate reading challenge page, but have since taken it down.

8. Post you wished got a little more love?

I don’t think there’s a single post that I wished got a little more love, but I would love to see more comments on my Teaser Tuesday posts. Only because I want to see other people’s teasers, to discover more books and communicate with you guys more.

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Hands down my best bookish discovery of 2015 was Scribd. Scribd is what I like to refer to as the Netflix of books. It costs $8.99 a month, and you have unlimited access to the ebooks on the site, along with a credit every month for an audio book. If you haven’t heard of it yet, I definitely recommend you check it out. You can use this link to get your first two months for free!

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I was actually able to complete one, which I thought was great. The challenge that I completed was to read five adult fiction books, and I’m really glad that I took the opportunity to do that. I hope to continue reading more adult fiction books in 2016.

1. One book you didn’t get to in 2015 but will be your number one priority in 2016?

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo – As I’ve already mentioned, I absolutely loved the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo and I was pumped to hear we were getting more set in the Grisha world. I wasn’t able to get my hands on a copy in 2015, but I’ve already ordered it and I plan on reading it soon after it arrives.

2. Book you are most anticipating for 2016 (non-debut)?

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard – I think the magic system for this world sounds amazing, on top of that I’m interested to see the differences in the types of witches. The plot sounds amazing, everything about this book just sounds amazing.

3. 2016 debut you are most anticipating?

Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor – Who doesn’t love time travelers? I certainly do. This book just sounds really interesting and I’m excited to dive into it.

4. Series ending/a sequel you are most anticipating in 2016?

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas – I absolutely loved A Court of Thorns and Roses, and I absolutely cannot wait any longer for this sequel. Seriously, I can has now?

5. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging life in 2016?

I really want to get out of this damn reading slump I have been in for the majority of 2015. I also would like to become more consistent in posting on my blog. I tend to kind of poof when I haven’t been doing much reading and I would like to remedy that and find other bookish things I can post if I’m struggling with reading much at that time.

6. A 2016 release you’ve already read & recommended to everyone?

This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp – The only 2016 release I’ve read already. I really did enjoy this book – I just haven’t had much chance to recommend it to everyone yet. It just came out, so you should go get a copy and give it a read!

What are your thoughts?

