TBRs

2016 Goals and Challenges

Hello, lovely readers! I hope you’re all having a fantastic New Year’s Eve – remember to be safe and have fun while you celebrate the end of the year; and the beginning of a new year.

Today I want to talk about my goals and challenges for the year of 2016. I want to be a little easier on myself this year; I think I set a few too many goals last year. Part of me wonders if the pressure to complete those goals are part of the reason I struggled with reading this year. Let’s get started!

The first challenge I want to talk about is the Goodreads reading challenge. In 2014, I set my goal to 60 books and I read exactly 60 books. In 2015, I set my goal to 65 books and ended up reading only 56 of those 65 books. I’ve decide that this year I want to focus more on enjoying what I read rather than how much I’m reading. That being said, I’m going to set my Goodreads goal for this year at 20 books. I have no doubt in my mind that this is a reachable number for me, and that I will probably reach it early on in 2016; but I don’t want this year to be about reading a certain number of books and more about just having fun reading again.

I’m going to take another stab at completing three series this year. I was able to start and finish two series in the year of 2015, so I think simply finishing three shouldn’t be that difficult. I have a few series that I’ve started but have yet to finish, that would be excellent for this challenge. Such as the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld, the Shatter Me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi, or the Penryn and the End of Days Trilogy by Susan Ee; along with many more.

My final goal for the year of 2016 is to take part in a readathon at least once a month. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to do this, but I usually do a fairly good job at readathons and I’m hoping that will continue into the year 2016. The last thing I want to mention in this post is the Popsugar Challenge that I started last year. I really wanted to finish it in the year of 2015, but was not able to do so. I am going to make a separate page for this under my Reading Challenges tabs, and continue this on until I finish it. Whether that be this year, or next year, or five years down the line.

If you would like to follow my progress with these challenges throughout the year of 2016 you can do so here. You can also find my new page for the Popsugar Challenge here.

What are your goals for the upcoming year? Are you taking part in any challenges, and if so which ones?

Caity

What are your thoughts?

