Wrap Ups

2015 Goals and Challenges Wrap Up

Hello lovely readers!

I cannot believe that 2015 is almost over. It feels as if this year has just sped by in a whirlwind. I’m not going to lie, 2015 was a tough year for me. I apologize that I was kind of sporadic in posting and whatnot. There were a few reasons for this; on top of the year being extremely busy, I have been in this really weird reading slump for what feels like forever. Also, it’s been one of the worst years for my depression and anxiety in a long time; so I’ve been trying to cope with that.

If you would like to take a look at my page for my 2015 goals and challenges, you can find that here.

Looking back, I think I set too many goals for myself. Maybe it was too many, or maybe it was too many for this year; either way, I was only able to complete one of my goals.

My first goal for 2015 was the Goodreads reading challenge, in which I wanted to read 65 books throughout the year. I still believe this is very doable for me, but it just wasn’t this year. I ended up reading 56 books this year, which is a great amount, just a little short of my goal. My second goal for 2015 was to reread five books, and I ended up only rereading three. I reread Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, Things Not Seen by Andrew Clements, and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. Three of my favorite books from when I was a child.

My third goal for the year was to finish three series, and while I got close, I only managed to finish two. The great thing about this is the two series that I did finish are two of my favorites of all time. The first that I finished was the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo (Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, and Ruin and Rising), and the second was the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before duology by Jenny Han (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You). My fourth goal for the year was to read five adult fiction books, and this is the only goal that I completed. I’m glad that I took this opportunity to read more adult fiction novels. I really, really enjoyed the books that I read this year (with the exception of the first one) and I’m grateful that I took this step back into the adult fiction genre. I read Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James, Love, Rosie by Cecila Ahern, On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves, The Martian by Andy Weir, and The Life We Bury by Allen Eskens.

My next goal for the year of 2015 was to reread the Harry Potter series. I did end up starting this by rereading the first book, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, but did not finish rereading the whole series. Maybe next year! My sixth goal was to complete the Popsugar reading challenge, and I did manage to get about half way done. I think I might make the Popsugar challenge it’s own page and continue with this challenge into 2016. Last but not least, my final challenge was to complete the A to Z challenge; which I did not do. Let’s just not talk about how much I failed that challenge.

Overall, with how busy I was and how hectic the year was, I’m proud of the reading that I was able to do. How did your reading year go? Did you read everything you wanted to read or complete your personal goals and challenges?

I hope you all had a happy holidays, and I hope you have a wonderful new year! (:

Caity

What are your thoughts?

