Book Review

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Publication Date: January 1, 2012

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Children’s

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Series: The Throne of Glass Series, Book One

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 404 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon | Book Depository

Rating: 5 sm

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.


Throne of Glass was my second Sarah J. Maas novel, and it did not disappoint. That being said, I think I liked this a little bit less than I liked A Court of Thorns and Roses, which I read a little while before I read Throne of Glass.

Our main character is a very strong, female lead; which I really did appreciate. Celaena Sardothien is the lands most renowned assassin, who has been living out her sentence as a slave in the salt mines. Until the crown prince shows up and offers her an opportunity for her freedom. I enjoyed that Celaena was interesting to read about and that she was a fairly practical character. She is a strong, and independent woman. I really loved how Sarah J. Maas wrote her character. On top of our main character, she also did a very good job at writing the two main male characters. That being the crown prince and the captain of the guard. That being said, I have no idea which one I love more and it’s a really big problem for me right now, okay?

I really enjoyed the plot, even though parts of it were a bit predictable. Celaena has to prove herself through competitions, in order to become the King’s royal assassin. Not only that but avoid being killed as the contestants are picked off one by one. Celaena is quite a bit stronger than I would ever be in that situation. You could probably find me in a ball in the corner, to be honest.

My biggest complaint about this book is that it moved at a fairly slow pace for me; until the last hundred pages or so. Not that I wasn’t enjoying it, it was just moving slowly. I know a good portion of this has to do with the fact that it’s the first book in a high fantasy series. They tend to move slower because of how much set up is required. The last hundred pages really brought the book up for me, and I cannot wait to continue on with the series. I will be continuing in 2016, and I’ll probably reread this before I continue on.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this novel. Especially if you love high fantasy with a badass female lead.

*The image and synopsis were both taken from Goodreads. Clicking on the “add to Goodreads” image above will take you to the Goodreads page for this book.*
What are your thoughts?

