Cliff Notes

Princess in Love by Meg Cabot | Cliff Notes

*WARNING: Possible spoilers for the previous books.*

Publication Date: December 1, 2001

Publisher: Harper Teen

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Series: The Princess Diaries, Book Three

Format: Audio Book

Pages: 229 pages

Source: Scribd

Buy It: Amazon | Book Depository

Rating: 4½ sm

Princess Mia may seem like the luckiest girl ever.

But the truth is, Mia spends all her time doing one of three things: preparing for her nerve-wracking entrée into Genovian society, slogging through the congestion unique to Manhattan in December, and avoiding further smooches from her hapless boyfriend, Kenny.

For Mia, being a princess and in love is not the fairy tale it’s supposed to be… or is it?


I loved this installment in the Princess Diaries series. I knocked it down half a star because I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as the last books. However, I still really loved it. My biggest complaint about the book was that Mia’s relationship with Kenny seemed so forced. I feel like Mia thought she needed a boyfriend, and therefore was trying to make herself like him. However, in the end, things ended the way that I wanted them to.

The pace of this series is very slow. Three books into the series and Mia is still fourteen. This isn’t really a downfall for me, however. Although I’m definitely used to young adult series moving through time a bit quicker, I think it fits well. The voice and humor were on point in this novel, as it was in the previous books. And as in the previous books, this was a super quick read; and I listened to it on audiobook through Scribd.

Overall, I would definitely recommend it and cannot wait to continue on with the series. I have already read book four, but I think I want to purchase these in paperback before I continue on past that.

*The image and synopsis were both taken from Goodreads. Clicking on the “add to Goodreads” image above will take you to the Goodreads page for this book.*
What are your thoughts?

