Book Review

Princess in the Spotlight by Meg Cabot

*WARNING: Possible spoilers for the previous book.*

Publication Date: January 1, 2001

Publisher: Harper Teen

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Series: The Princess Diaries, Book Two

Format: Audio Book

Pages: 256 pages

Source: Scribd

Buy It: Amazon | Book Depository

Rating: 5 sm

No one ever said being a princess was easy.

Just when Mia thought she had the whole princess thing under control, things get out of hand, fast. First there’s an unexpected announcement from her mother. Then Grandmere arranges a national primetime interview for the brand-new crown princess of Genovia. On top of that, intriguing, exasperating letters from a secret admirer begin to arrive.

Before she even has the chance to wonder who those letters are from, Mia is swept up in a whirlwind of royal intrigue the likes of which hasn’t been seen since volume I of The Princess Diaries.


I adore this series so much. This second novel was just as funny and entertaining as the first. I listened to these first few installments on Audiobook, through Scribd, and I loved every second of it. This has to do with a few things. Of course, I love Meg Cabot’s writing. She does a fantastic job of making Mia feel so authentic. I remember worrying about some of the things Mia worries about, in high school.

Of course, I never had to worry about having to rule a country when I got older; but still. I probably don’t have to say it, but Anne Hathaway did a fantastic job as the narrator. Though I may be biased, because The Princess Diaries movies were some of my favorites when I was younger; and I love Anne in everything I’ve seen her in.

I really love the characters in this book series. Mia especially, if it wasn’t already obvious. Cabot does a fantastic job of giving Mia a voice and making her seem authentic. The diary style in which the books are written in, definitely make this easier to do. However, she doesn’t skimp on making the other characters stand out also. The books are incredibly fast paced, and I have no doubt in my mind that if I had read this in physical form it would have taken me no time to devour it. (The audiobooks are only around four or five hours long anyway.)

Overall, I really love this series and would definitely recommend it if you like light young adult contemporary novels. I would also recommend it if you loved the Princess Diaries movies. The novels have a little more too them and are quite a bit different. I cannot wait to read more of this series.

*The image and synopsis were both taken from Goodreads. Clicking on the “add to Goodreads” image above will take you to the Goodreads page for this book.*
What are your thoughts?

