Cliff Notes

The Eye of Minds by James Dashner | Cliff Notes

Publication Date: September 27, 2013

Publisher: Ember

Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction

Series: The Mortality Doctrine, Book One

Format: Paperback

Pages: 336 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon | Book Depository

Rating: 3 sm

Michael is a gamer. And like most gamers, he almost spends more time on the VirtNet than in the actual world. The VirtNet offers total mind and body immersion, and the more hacking skills you have, the more fun. Why bother following the rules when most of them are dumb, anyway?

But some rules were made for a reason. Some technology is too dangerous to fool with. And one gamer has been doing exactly that, with murderous results.

The government knows that to catch a hacker, you need a hacker. And they’ve been watching Michael. If he accepts their challenge, Michael will need to go off the VirtNet grid to the back alleys and corners of the system human eyes have never seen—and there’s the possibility that the line between game and reality will be blurred forever.


I’ve been really struggling when trying to write this review. This is mostly due to the fact that I didn’t dislike this book. I thought it was okay, but that it could have been a lot better. As with The Maze Runner, I just didn’t find myself invested in this story or it’s characters. It was entertaining enough that I finished the book, but it took me longer than it should have to do so. In my opinion, the strongest part of the book was the plot twist at the end. I definitely did not see it coming, so props for that.

After reading this, I’ve decided that James Dashner’s writing is just not for me. Like I mentioned before, this book was not bad. I just felt really meh while reading it, and really meh after reading it. At first, I had considered reading the rest of the series, and the rest of the Maze Runner series. However, I have decided I’m not going to continue with either. I just don’t think that Dashner’s writing is for me, and that’s okay.

Overall, I would recommend that if you would like to read this, pick it up from the library. Unless you know that you like Dashner’s writing. It wasn’t bad by any means, just not for me.

*The image and synopsis were both taken from Goodreads. Clicking on the “add to goodreads” image above will take you to the Goodreads page for this book.*
What are your thoughts?

