Book Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Publication Date: May 5, 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s

Genre: New Adult Fantasy

Series: The A Court of Thorns and Roses Trilogy, Book One

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 416 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon | Book Depository

Rating: 5 sm

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.


This was a fantastic start to a thrilling new fantasy series! This was my first ever Sarah J. Maas book, and it was just as wonderful as I expected it to be. I’m not even sure where to start with this review; the book was just so amazing. Sarah’s writing was so fantastic and fast paced. The story flowed well and everything fit so perfectly. This was my first Sarah J. Maas read, and it definitely will not be my last.

The characters were beautifully crafted. Their stories fit in perfectly and I never really felt like something was missing. Reading from Feyre’s perspective was wonderful. At the beginning of the story her family is really struggling. She’s hunting so they can survive. She knows hardship and what it’s like to struggle. She grows so much as a character throughout the story. There were plenty of swoon worthy men, and literally the perfect amount of romance.

Sarah J. Maas’s writing was just beautiful. Her imagery is perfect, I had no problem imagining this book in my mind. The beginning and middle were slow paced compared to the last hundred pages or so which was just chalk full of lots of action. This isn’t a bad thing though, I thought the pacing was perfect for the story. I really loved the Beauty and the Beast elements in this story and I really enjoyed the pieces that they had to change because it fit better for the world and situations.

Overall, I would most definitely recommend it. So far, this is definitely my favorite book of the year and I cannot wait for the next installment. I left this book wanting to read everything of hers. (I did end up reading Throne of Glass. It was also excellent.) I also have no idea which ship I’m sailing on, if you know what I mean. I’m flailing in the middle of the ocean and I can’t decide which ship to board.

*The image and synopsis were both taken from Goodreads. Clicking on the “add to goodreads” image above will take you to the Goodreads page for this book.*
What are your thoughts?

