Top 5 Wednesday

T5W 5: Characters You Wish You Could Drown

The Top Five Characters I Wish I Could Drown

We all have those characters, right? Those characters that no matter how hard we try (or maybe we don’t even try) we just cannot stand them. Those characters we wish we could drown. (Or throw into like a fiery pit of lava, your choice.) This is what we’ll be talking about today. I am going to try my very best to do this without spoiling anything, so there may not be a whole lot said about the characters. I apologize if I become repetitive but I promise I am only doing it because if I said what I really wanted to say, I would probably spoil someone. I will link to the books Goodreads on the title of the book; if it is a series I will link to the first book in the series.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Mal from the Grisha Trilogy by Leigh BardugoMal was really annoying to me in the first two books. I felt like all he did was hinder Alina and that he didn’t really accept her for who she was. I liked him more in the third book, but he was still Mal. He spent the majority of the series brooding over the fact that Alina was changing and trying to stop her from gaining more power.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Dean from the Monument 14 Trilogy by Emmy  LaybourneMy biggest issue with Dean is that he spent the majority of the first book pining over Astrid. Like it was his biggest concern throughout the book. He lives in a post apocalyptic world and his biggest concern is why Astrid doesn’t love him? Really? The fact that the world is falling apart outside of the store isn’t a worry? Okay then.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Kaltain from the Throne of Glass Series: Now I’ve only read the first book, so I don’t know if she changes at all in the next books. Kaltain was just so frustrating throughout the first book. I spent the whole book wanting to do one of three things at all times: shake, slap, or strangle her.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Susie Salmon from The Lovely Bones by Alice SeboldI was not a fan of Susie Salmon. Which sounds horrible, because she was the main character and murdered in like the first chapter of the book. Part of my hate for her is attributed to the fact that I just did not like this book. The other part of my hate is that I was not happy with her choices at the end of the book.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Dolores Umbridge from the Harry Potter Series by J.K.Rowling: Do I really need to explain myself for this one?

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Who are the top five characters you wish you could drown? Please no spoilers in the comments section. Keep this a safe place for all readers!

What are your thoughts?

