Top 5 Wednesday

T5W 3: Books With Multiple POVs

My Top Five Books with Multiple POVs

For those of you who don’t know what POV stands for, it means point of view, or from who the story is told. Most of the time this means that the story switches between characters from one chapter to the next. I had a hard time coming up with this list because I haven’t read very many books with multiple point of views. Without further ado, and in no particular order (mostly cause I just put them down as I thought of them), here we go!

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes: Falling Kingdoms is the first book in a six book young adult fantasy series. (I believe it’s going to be six books. That is what is currently listed for the series on Goodreads.) The first three books are out and the first book of the spinoff series is coming out this year, along with the fourth book in the series. This book follows four characters from the three different kingdoms of Mytica. The kingdoms are not very happy with each other and they’re pretty much on the brink of war. I really enjoyed the different point of views in this novel. I didn’t have any trouble remembering whose point of view I was reading from; which is very important to me (especially after reading Allegiant last year). (My review for this book can be found here.)

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

The Demon King by Cinda Williams ChimaThe Demon King is another first book in a young adult fantasy series. I read this book last year after watching Regan from PeruseProject rave about it over and over again. It was a little slow going, but it wasn’t anything I didn’t expect from the first book in a fantasy series. World building is a must. This book is told from two different point of views. Hans, who is a thief and has these weird silver cuffs that grow with him and never come off. And Princess Raisa who is determined to be an almighty queen like the legendary Hanalea; even if her family has other plans for her. I actually really want to reread this soon! (My review for this book can be found here.)

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarryThis is a young adult contemporary novel that follows the perspectives of two characters. Noah, the smoking hot bad boy who has a little more to him than meets the eye. Echo, the girl who went from being really popular to the girl with weird scars on her arm. She doesn’t remember how they got there, and nobody seems to be giving up the details. This novel was beautiful. It was perfectly paced, the characters were everything I wanted and more, the humor was on point, and so was the plot. (My review for this book can be found here.)

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow RowellIt is not secret that I love Rainbow Rowell. I have read three out of her four books that are currently published, and I have loved all three of them. Eleanor & Park was such an amazing, heartbreaking story. It is told back and forth between Eleanor’s point of view and Park’s point of view. This book is set in the 80s’ and riddled with a lot of really awesome pop culture references from that decade. Now, I only understood a handful of them, but those that I did, I loved. This is the story of two misfits that fall into a really messy, complicated love. And it only gets more complicated as things unravel. Oh and that ending.. that ending. (My review for this book can be found here.)

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

The Truth About Alice by Jennifer MathieuThis was one of my first reads of the year. I didn’t know a whole lot about this book going in, and there were times I wanted to punch every single character in the face. But it was so worth the read. This book is told from multiple point of views (I don’t remember exactly how many. Like five maybe?). It’s the story of a girl named Alice, who everyone blames for the death of the star quarterback. This book is chalk full of stereotypes and bullying. However, I think it could be a great lesson to show people that what they say and what they do, matters. (My review for this book can be found here.)

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

What are your top five books with multiple POVs?

2 thoughts on “T5W 3: Books With Multiple POVs

What are your thoughts?

