Read-A-Thons

#TBRTakedown Readathon

It’s time for another read-a-thon! It’s summer time finally and I was super disappointed when I didn’t have the chance to participate in the last round of Bout of Books! So when I saw this on my subscription feed today I was super excited and definitely wanted to participate! The #TBRTakedown read-a-thon is being hosted by Shannon from leaninglights on BookTube! You can check out her channel by either clicking on her channel name or by checking out her announcement video located here! The read-a-thon will run from June 1st to June 7th and there are a few challenges for this read-a-thon. I have picked out five books to go along with those challenges! I also tried to center my picks around my A to Z challenge list because I’m soooooooo behind on it. I haven’t decided yet if I will post daily updates or not. I think I might, and if I do it will not interrupt my scheduled posts so you may get two posts a day.

1: A book that has been on your TBR shelf for over a year.

The book that I picked for this challenge is Landry Park by Bethany Hagen! I bought this book in March of 2014 and have been wanting to read it since. There was a lot of hype around this and I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews, which makes me kind of hesitant but I’m still excited to finally get to it.

2: An unread sequel sitting on your TBR shelf.

The book that I picked for this is Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo! I read the first two books in the Grisha trilogy earlier this year and I’m so excited to finally be finishing this trilogy. I really love it and can’t wait to see how it wraps up.

3: A first book in a series on your TBR shelf.

The book that I picked for this is Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne. This is the first book in the Monument 14 trilogy (I think it’s a trilogy?). I believe it’s about kids who get stuck in a supermarket after a super storm. I think it’s post apocalyptic, which I am all about.

4: An “out of your comfort zone” book.

For this I picked out Your Heart Belongs to Me by Dean Koontz. This is an adult mystery/thriller. While I do enjoy adult books and I do enjoy mystery and thrillers, I don’t read that many of them. I imagine I will like this because I enjoy most of the adult mystery/thrillers that I read. I picked this as “out of my comfort zone” because I don’t read many of them and I’ve never read a book by Dean Koontz before.

5: A book from your most recent book haul.

My most recent book haul (from April) still hasn’t made it up on to YouTube because I am the epitome of laziness. But the book that I picked out for this is Angelfall by Susan Ee. I’ve heard so many amazing things about this book and I’m so excited to finally have it in my collection!

I will also be reading 20-30 pages of Yes Please by Amy Poehler for the first couple of days of this readathon. Yes Please is the book that I am currently reading with my friends, Day and Heidi, and I believe we’re set to finish it on the 3rd of June.

Are you going to participate in this read-a-thon? If so, what are you planning to read?

2 thoughts on “#TBRTakedown Readathon

What are your thoughts?

