Top 5 Wednesday

T5W 1: Books I Won’t Read. Ever.

The Top 5 Books I Won’t Read. Ever.

Today’s topic for Top Five Wednesday is the top five books I won’t read. Ever. I want you to keep in mind that this list is always subject to change. I hate to be one of those people who says “I’ll NEVER do this.” Because let’s be honest, things can change. I decided to pick the top five books and/or authors that I more than likely will never read. (But again, things could change.) Please keep in mind that this is my personal opinion only and I mean no offense if you like/love any of these books and/or authors.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Anything ever written by Alice Sebold: This is definitely not for the same reason as an author further down in my list, and could possibly change in the future. But it probably won’t. I read The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold in 2014. While I did enjoy parts of this book, I had a lot of issues with it too. (You can check out my review of that book here.) I originally rated this book a three out of five stars, but looking back on it I wish I had rated it lower. (I don’t change ratings after a review has been published.) The book started out really strong for me, but I was bored through a good portion of it. At the end of the book the main character makes some choices that I was really not okay with.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Torment by Lauren Kate: Torment is the second book in the Fallen Series by Lauren Kate. I read Fallen by Lauren Kate about four years ago, and I remember that I liked it. But I don’t remember much about the story and I’ve pretty much just lost interest in continuing with the series.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige: This is mostly because I’ve learned that it is a Full Fathom Five book and I cannot support James Frey or his company. I just. No. Information on Full Fathom Five could take up an entire post on it’s own, so instead I’ll leave some links for you to check out. Here, here, here, here, and this list of known Full Fathom Five books.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

The Alchemyst by Michael Scott: I bought this book quite a few years ago (I was still in high school I believe). When I first purchased it, I was very interested in it. I remember picking it up once, reading a few chapters and then setting it down. Since then I’ve kind of lost interest in it. I’ve heard some pretty good things about it, I’m just feeling pretty meh about it right now.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

Anything ever written by Kathleen Hale: Kathleen Hale is the author of No One Else Can Have You (released in January of 2014, also a very fitting title if I do say so myself). I’m a little nervous to even talk about why I’ll never read a book written by Kathleen Hale. At the beginning of the post when I talked about how things can change, how some day in the future I may read something that’s listed here; that did not include this. I don’t know how many of you know, and I won’t go into a huge amount of detail, but last fall Kathleen Hale wrote an article in which she talked about an experience she had with a person who posted a bad review of her novel. When I say experience, what I really mean is, she stalked this reviewer to the point of getting her address and going to her house. I’m sorry, but I cannot support someone who does this. For more information you can read the article that Kathleen Hale wrote herself here. You can also check out this BuzzFeed article in which you can find a little more information and also some information in what happened because of the incident.

♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦♦

What are the top five books and/or authors you’ll never read?

What are your thoughts?

