Book Review

Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publication Date: November 23rd, 2011

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction

Series: The Lux Series, Book One

Format: Kindle eBook

Pages: 269 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon

Rating: 5 sm

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.


I really loved this book. It was a fantastic start to the series, and I couldn’t put it down. I did not put this book down until two am when I had finished it. And I immediately wanted to buy the next book (which I did when I woke up the next day). These are my favorite kind of aliens; the peaceful kind. The kind that aren’t here to obliterate our existence. Is this the best piece of literature out there? No. But that wasn’t its purpose. This books purpose was to take you on a ride for a fun story, and it accomplished that goal.

I really loved the characters in this book. Katy, Daemon, Dee, and the rest of the side characters too. They were all well done and fit their roles nicely. The main character, Katy is pretty refreshing and relatable for me. She’s a book blogger, she’s funny, down to earth, and can be pretty snarky at times. She’s not afraid to stand up for herself and tell people what she thinks. Most of the time, she doesn’t get along with the male lead, Daemon, even if she is attracted to him. She’s not afraid to let him know when he’s being an asshole and I really liked that about her. She also doesn’t ignore the fact that he’s a jerk to be with him. She recognizes the fact and calls him out on it.

The playful conversations between the two were really entertaining too. This book had me laughing out loud a few times, and talking to the characters out loud on occasion. Luckily my husband was asleep and he doesn’t wake easily. Daemon tries his best to stay away from Katy but ends up saving her life a few times. After this, he has to protect her because of the trace that using his abilities puts on her. Whenever they’re together the sexual tension is dripping from the pages, and I loved every minute of it. You do get to see some of Daemon’s true nature, and that he’s really just very overprotective of his family (you find out why) and has good reasons for the way he acts.

Overall, I really loved this book and would recommend it to anyone who loves a good paranormal/science fiction romance.

*The image and synopsis were both taken from Goodreads. Clicking on the “add to goodreads” image above will take you to the Goodreads page for this book.*
One thought on “Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

What are your thoughts?

