Book Review

The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Publication Date: August 24th, 2010

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

Series: The Maze Runner Trilogy, Book One

Format: Paperback

Pages: 374 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon

Rating: 4 sm

“If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.”

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers–boys whose memories are also gone.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out–and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.


I liked The Maze Runner, but I didn’t love it. I actually had a really hard time deciding whether I wanted to rate this with three stars or with four. I decided on four because of the ending. Mostly because it took me by surprise. A lot of this book took me by surprise, actually; which is a good thing in my eyes. I wasn’t expecting what happened at the end, to happen. Not only that, but it left me with a want to know what happens next. To have answers. And that’s a big thing for me when it comes to books in the beginning of a series. But it took me forever to get through this book. I think that was probably my biggest problem with it. Most of the dystopian novels I’ve read, I’ve gotten through really fast and that just wasn’t the case here. I think that threw me off.

I really enjoyed the descriptions in the novel, I think James Dashner did a great job with them. Now this is set in a fictional place, I think. The maze obviously isn’t real, but I’m not sure about the rest of the world. I did have a few problems with this book. Now don’t get me wrong, I love when novels take you as the reader and throw you into this world you know nothing about. I love the mystery aspect, finding out bits of information at a time, it’s all great. The downside to this in this particular novel was that it took forever before you were provided with much information about the maze or the things inside of it. And when that information was provided, it was close to nothing. The boys did not trust Thomas, therefore they told him only what they thought he needed to know.

With the introduction of Teresa, the novel gives you this sense that her being in the maze is this massive deal. That she is going to change everything. She shows up fairly early in the novel, but isn’t present for like half of it and nothing regarding her really happens until about that point. I didn’t think that made a huge amount of sense. All the sudden, there’s a girl in the glade and she’s given this cryptic message that everything’s going to change, and nothing happens (regarding her anyway) for half the book. It was a little off putting.

Overall, I did enjoy this book. If you haven’t read it, I recommend picking it up. But I think I’d also recommend not going into with the expectation to get through it really fast. Or with your expectations set too high.

*The image and synopsis were both taken from Goodreads. Clicking on the “add to goodreads” image above will take you to the Goodreads page for this book.*
What are your thoughts?

