Book Review

Arthur and the Minimoys by Luc Besson

Publication Date: May 1st, 2005

Publisher: HarperCollins

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

Series: The Arthur Series, Book One

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 219 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon (They do not have it straight from Amazon, only other sellers.)

Rating: 3 sm

Arthur’s grandfather disappeared four years ago. All he left behind are his notebooks full of stories about little-known African tribes–including the Minimoys, a miniature people who are all less than one inch tall.

But the Minimoys can’t possibly be real . . . can they?

Arthur is about to find out, as he uncovers a hidden message that catapults him on an adventure wilder than he had ever imagined. In just three days, he must find a way to the land of the Minimoys, recover a stole treasure, battle an invading force of mosquito-riding warriors, defeat an evil wizard, win the heart of a very independent princess–and somehow get back home again.

It seems like an impossible task, but as he’ll discover along the way, sometimes the littlest heroes can make the biggest difference. . .


This is an adventure story about a young boy named Arthur who is ten years old. I really enjoyed the set up for this story. Arthur is staying with his grandmother. You learn about his grandfather, Archibald who went missing four years ago and all of these adventures that he and his wife went one before settling in one place. You get to learn about some different tribes, one of which is a tribe of tiny people called the Minimoys. Arthur’s grandmother is going through quite a few hardships at the beginning of the novel. Not only is she still dealing with the disappearance of her husband, but now she is broke and losing her house to a horrible man. She tells Arthur about a treasure that his grandfather supposedly hid in the garden. And all of this leads to Arthur believing the Minimoys are real and that they live in the garden. He finds a hidden message from his grandfather and that in turn leads him into the world of the Minimoys.

I enjoyed the general adventure aspect of this story, I enjoyed the initial set up of the story, the main character Arthur, and the Minimoy princess Selenia. I think I may not have been in the mood for a middle grade book when I read this. I found myself getting rather bored at parts of the story. It was more bored with the writing than with the story itself. I enjoy Arthur’s character, he’s silly, he’s adventurous, he believes the stories his grandparents tell him, and he is everything a ten year old boy is supposed to be. But the thing I love most about his character is how much he wants and needs to help his grandmother out.

Overall my biggest problem with this book was that I had periods where I was really bored while reading it. It wasn’t keeping my attention. I think if I had read this at a younger age I probably would have enjoyed it a lot more than I did. It’s definitely not a bad story. I think maybe I just was not in the mood for middle grade writing.

*The image came from Goodreads. The synopsis came from the inside flap of my book.*
What are your thoughts?

