Bookish Things

Top Five Most Intimidating Books

 

Hey guys! And welcome to another Caity Reads top five list! Today’s list is my top five most intimidating books! Now these books can be intimidating for different reasons, and I’ll try to let you know why I think they’re intimidating. Let’s get started!

1. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. This one is more of the entire series than it is just the first book. It’s a high fantasy series and the books are all quite large! I’ve been trying to talk myself into reading this all month. And it’s not that I don’t want to, because I do, it’s just really intimidating! (Obviously, or it wouldn’t be on this list.)

2. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. This is kind of an interesting one for me. Part of the reason this book is intimidating for me is because I know a lot of people who absolutely hated this book. But I also know people who really loved it. Another reason I find this so intimidating is that in one of the high schools (I was there for the first two years and the last) I went to we were supposed to read this book our junior year. I was not there that year and ended up not having to read it. But all you ever heard from the juniors your freshmen and sophomore year was how much it sucked.

3. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. I own a bind of this series. And let me tell you, that thing is HUGE. I probably wouldn’t be as intimidated by this if I didn’t own the bind up and I had the books individually, but I don’t. So that’s how it is.

4. Death Match by Lincoln Child. I’m going to be honest and tell you that the reason this book is intimidating for me is not because of it’s contents, or it’s size (it’s not even 400 pages long if I remember correctly). The reason this book is intimidating for me is personal. I don’t think I’ve mentioned it before on the blog, but my dad passed away four years ago (as of Monday the 21st). This was the last book that he lent me before he died. And to be completely honest, I’m just not sure if I’m ready to read it for that reason.

5. Under the Dome by Stephen King. I chose this book mostly because of it’s size, and because it’s by Stephen King. Truth be told, this number five spot could probably go to any Stephen King book. I find his writing intimidating for a few reasons. First of all, the size of his books, they’re generally huge. Even though I love huge books, I still find them intimidating. Second, from what I’ve heard most of his stories are scary. I know that’s a little silly, but it’s true.

What books do you find the most intimidating?

What are your thoughts?

