Bookish Things

The Fairytale Survey

I found this survey over at Feed Me Books Now, which you should all check out. She has a beautiful book blog. But this survey originated at The Daily Prophecy. This survey just looked like a lot of fun, so I’ve decided to do it! So without further ado, here we go.

PART I: CLASSIC CHARACTERS

Pinocchio – The boy whose nose grows when he lies.

Is there a book you lie about, because you’re ashamed of liking it?

I don’t remember every feeling ashamed of a book I’ve read. I’m going to read what I want to read, and if you don’t like it, that’s too damn bad. You should never feel ashamed for something just because it isn’t necessarily the thing that other people read. I have a lot of feelings and opinions on this topic, and plan to be posting a discussion about it soon. So if you want to know more about how I feel, keep an eye out for that.

Beauty and the Beast – The girl who fell in love with personality.

Which book do you love that has a hideous cover?

I really loved the first book in the Vampire Academy series (I haven’t read the others yet), and I really dislike the original covers.

Snow White – Hunted down for her beauty. 

Do you ever buy a book based on the cover alone and if so, what is the last one?

I do. I think everybody does this sometimes. The last two I bought were from my local used bookstore and they were Arthur and the Minimoys and Arthur and the Forbidden City by Luc Besson.

Sleeping Beauty – Cursed to sleep, awakened by true loves kiss.

What is your favorite book couple?

I think I would have to choose Katniss and Peeta from The Hunger Games trilogy. They go through so much together, and they give me a lot of feels.

Little Mermaid – Gave up on her old life for love.

Do you ever branch out to new genres or do you like to stick with the ones you know and love? If you try new things out, what is the latest book?

I will read just about anything, as long as it’s fiction. Although, I have recently received a non-fiction, a memoir, and plan to read it. It is Estranged by Jessica Berger Gross.

Cinderella – Who lost her shoe after midnight.

What is the last book that made you stay up all night?

I recently started rereading The Host by Stephenie Meyer. And I stayed up till about three in the morning a few nights ago so I could read more. I know that’s not all night, but that’s probably the closest I’ve been to it recently.

Rapunzel – Locked up in a tower.

What is  the worst book you read last month?

I actually didn’t read any books last month that I thought were bad. I enjoyed everything I read.

PART II: MIX-MATCH

Aladdin – The poor boy who found a genie.

What is the latest book treasure/gem you found?

The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima. It was amazing. [Review here.]

Alice in Wonderland – The girl who fell through the rabbit’s hole.

Which book made you really feel like you landed in another world?

I’m going to have to go with something painfully obvious and say Harry Potter. It’s one of my favorite series, and every time I read one of the books I become completely immersed in that world.

East of the Sun and West of the Moon – Where a girl embarks on her journey to save her love.

Who is one of your favorite kick-ass heroines?

I think if I had to pick one, it would probably be Rose from the Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead [review here]. Not only is she kick-ass, but she’s extremely confident in herself and that’s not something you find in a lot of YA heroines. It’s definitely something that I admire about her and made her stick out.

The Frog Prince – Where an enchanted prince becomes human again.

What is a book you thought you would hate, but end up loving?

For this I would have to say Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. When it first came out I was really hesitant of it and I think it was mostly the title that put me off (and the covers). However, I read this book in March and absolutely loved it.

Hansel and Gretel – Left alone in the woods and captured by a witch.

Which duo (sister/sister, brother/sister) is your favorite and why?

I absolutely love Jane and Lizzie from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. They care about each other so much and it’s very endearing.

Little Red Riding Hood – Almost eaten by a wolf dressed as her grandmother.

What book disappointed you after falling in love with the cover and blurb?

I can’t think of anything that I’ve read recently. But the first thing that popped into my head was Fallen by Lauren Kate; which I read a couple years ago. The cover is absolutely gorgeous, and I really loved the premise. However, I was a little disappointed in the book. Mostly by the instant love story in it. I liked the book, just not as much as I expected to.

Rumpelstiltskin – Nobody knows his name.

Which book do you love that doesn’t get enough attention?

I would have to say Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer. I really enjoyed the first three books in this series (I haven’t read the final book yet). But I really haven’t heard anything about them.

What are your thoughts?

