Book Review

Allegiant by Veronica Roth

* WARNING, DIVERGENT AND INSURGENT SPOILERS AHEAD*

Publication Date: October 22nd, 2013

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

Series: The Divergent Trilogy (Book Three)

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 526 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon

Rating: 4 sm

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.


This book picks up immediately after the end of Insurgent. We’ve just heard the Edith Prior video and Tris is locked up, awaiting trial as a traitor. In this final book we learn more about what’s on the other side of the wall, and why the world outside fell apart. We’re introduced to some new characters, who I ultimately liked a lot and thought they served their purposes well.

Overall, I really enjoyed the conclusion to this series. I know there are quite a few people who were less than okay with the major bit that happens toward the end of book; but I was surprisingly okay with it. I though the decision fit Tris’s character well and it made sense. I really did enjoy this book, I just had a few problems with it.

The biggest issue I had with the book was the dual perspective. I understand why she did it, but I found myself on more than one occasion, not able to tell who’s perspective we were in. I often would have to go back to the beginning of the chapter to check because Tris and Four’s voices seemed almost exactly the same to me; and it really bothered me. I don’t mind having dual perspective, in fact, a lot of times I find it more enjoyable to read. But I have to be able to tell the two characters apart, and I had a really hard time doing that.

Although I enjoyed getting the back story, I feel like some of the outside world government stuff should have discussed in earlier books. Or maybe Allegiant should have been split into two books. I’m not entirely sure which I would have preferred, but either way it felt like a lot of information for one book.

However, I really loved the character development in this book. The second book, and for a good half of this book, Tris and Four were being extremely immature. I’m glad they finally moved past that and were able to see that what they were doing was stupid. I loved the ending, I thought it fit well, and I give major props to Roth for doing what she felt was right and not giving in to what she thought people would be okay with.

Image and Synopsis Credit

What are your thoughts?

