Book Review

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

 *WARNING: Possible Divergent spoilers ahead.*

Publication Date: May 1st, 2014

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

Series: The Divergent Trilogy (Book Two)

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 525 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon

Rating: 5 sm

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.


Overrall, I really enjoyed the second book in this series. There were a few things in this book that I was not happy with, but for the most part my love for the story, the world, and the characters, makes those things not matter so much. This book definitely had a lot darker tone throughout it. And the ending was just like, BAM!!! Which I really enjoyed.

Throughout the majority of this book I was at more of a four stars level with this book. And I think that’s because throughout most of the book, Tris really frustrated me. It wasn’t that she was annoying or that I didn’t like her; but as her grief overcomes her and she starts to care less and less about whether she lives or dies, I found myself wanting to scream at her. And at the conclusion of these feelings, I realized that it’s simply because I care very much for Beatrice PriorI became so attached to her in the first book, that through the first half of this book, my heart was completely and utterly broken for her and all I wanted was for her to be happy, and she wasn’t.

I truly enjoyed this book, in pretty much every aspect. The ending is probably what bumped it up to five stars for me, because I wasn’t expecting it; in fact, I didn’t expect half of the things that happened in this book to happen, and I absolutely loved that about it. In my honest opinion, there is nothing better than a book that isn’t completely and totally predictable and keeps you on your toes.

Tris develops as a character so much in this second book. At first I was kind of worried that all of her character development from the first book was being washed down the toilet, but by the end of the book I realized I was sorely mistaken. Through Insurgent Tris goes through a very large, personal battle; which is coming to terms with the fact that she killed one of her best friends. And understandably that is a large weight on her back, along with the fact that her parents died to protect her. This internal struggle definitely wears her down, and it made me really sad because of how much I care for her.

The relationship between Tris and Tobias in this book is very rocky, and even though it was sad and I didn’t like that it was sad, I thought it was very realistic and well done. No one has the perfect relationship, and while I probably would have done things a bit differently from Tris, I understand why she did some of the things she did. Even though this caused rifts between Tobias and her on many occasions.

Image and Synopsis Credit

What are your thoughts?

