Book Review

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Publication Date: May 3rd, 2011

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Genre: Young Adult Dystopian

Series: The Divergent Trilogy (Book One)

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 487 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon

Rating: 5 sm

In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles to determine who her friends really are. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers a growing conflict that threatens to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves… or it might destroy her.


I absolutely loved this book. It made me happy, it made me giggle, it made me sad, you name it and I probably felt it while reading this book. Veronica Roth’s writing is amazing and unique and I absolutely loved every minute of this book. She did a fantastic job with both the characters and the plot and I couldn’t wait to pick up the sequel (which I did, immediately after finishing the first book). I found the pacing of this book to be very enjoyable, it moved right along, and it didn’t take away from the world building which I thought was great.

The main character, Tris, is strong and very brave; and I absolutely love her. I gained an emotional connection to Tris throughout this book. I found myself feeling what she was feeling. I admired her for a lot of different reasons. I love that although she is very strong, she also has some vulnerability that adds a lot of dimension and personality to her character. I love that her flaws both work with and against her. They give her the amazing ability to control some situations around her, which can be very helpful to her, but also very dangerous. Along with Tris were so many other characters and I believe each played their role perfectly and they were all so important to move the plot along and help Tris discover who she is.

Also, I love me some Four.<3

Image and Synopsis Credit

What are your thoughts?

