Book Review

Control by Lydia Kang

Publication Date: December 26th, 2013

Publisher: Dial

Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction

Series: The Control Series (Book One)

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 400 pages

Source: Purchased

Buy It: Amazon

Rating: 4 sm

When a crash kills their father and leaves them orphaned, Zel knows she needs to protect her sister, Dyl. But before Zel has a plan, Dyl is taken by strangers using bizarre sensory weapons, and Zel finds herself in a safe house for teens who aren’t like any she’s ever seen before—teens who shouldn’t even exist. Using broken-down technology, her new friends’ peculiar gifts, and her own grit, Zel must find a way to get her sister back from the kidnappers who think a powerful secret is encoded in Dyl’s DNA.

A spiraling, intense, romantic story set in 2150—in a world of automatic cars, nightclubs with auditory ecstasy drugs, and guys with four arms—this is about the human genetic “mistakes” that society wants to forget, and the way that outcasts can turn out to be heroes.


Control was a fantastic novel. The pacing was amazing (although the middle did slow down a tad), and I could not put it down; I had to keep reading, I had to know what happened. This book is told in first person from the point of view of the main character, Zelia. It’s a futuristic science fiction thriller, and I loved almost every minute of it. I think this was a very strong first novel for Lydia Kang, and since I’ve read on her website there will be a sequel, I cannot wait for it.

There are quite a few characters in this novel, so I’ve decided I’m going to only talk about a few of them. The first being the protagonist, Zelia. Other than her breathing condition, I believe her to be a very typical teenager at the beginning of the novel. She’s moody towards her dad and sister, like most teenagers are with their family. This of course changes after their father dies. This was when I first started to admire Zelia, and I would have to say that I absolutely loved her by the end of this book. Her passion for her family, especially her sister, is so amazing. I love that she would do anything for her sister, even if it means risking herself in the process. And on top of that, she’s not one of those characters who doesn’t think things through before she does them. She almost always has the whole plan worked out before she acts on it. That’s not to say that it always works out in her favor, but she still does it.

When you first meet Cy he’s very broody. He’s invested in his work, and he could care less about Zelia, and he kind of treats her like crap. I enjoyed as the story progressed, watching their relationship progress. You see him kinda of trying to avoid those feelings, and then you see him finally let himself have what he wants. Overall I believe all of the characters in this novel fit their roles well and were good for the story.

I really liked the plot in this book. I thought it was well done, and that the pacing was amazing. I would have to say that the biggest reason that this did not receive a full five stars from me is because I did not like the ending. Since I’ve learned that there will be a sequel, I’m a little more okay with it; but even then it just didn’t feel right.

Image and Synopsis Credit

Also check out my video review of this book. I decided to use Control as my first video review, in doing so I wanted to write a full in depth review on the blog before doing so for a couple of reasons. First of which is, I really enjoyed this book and wanted to talk about it. Second, in case the video review sucked. I definitely think I have some room to improve, but I don’t think I did too bad for my first video review. Any other video reviews will be done in a different format. Check the video out!

What are your thoughts?

